Along the theme trail, historical sites that were once of great importance for Tyrol are in the foreground. Coal mining and the first Portland cement production in Austria-Hungary required continuous mining for 250 years, 200 years of which were underground.
Station 1: Church square
We invite you to a round trip on the traces of mining, back to the time when Bad Häring was characterised by mining.
Station 2: Maximilian tunnel
In 1810, under the Bavarian king, the Maxstollen was excavated to further open up the coal seam. After coal mining was discontinued, the Maxstollen was reopened in 1880 by Perlmooser Zementwerke AG (PAG) to extract marl.
Station 3: Franziskistollen
The Franziskistollen (673 m above sea level) was struck in 1784 and reached the coal seam after 606 m. The Franziski was destroyed in 1836 after a devastating fire. Remarkably, the resumption of coal mining in the Franziski area, which had been closed down in the 2nd World War, was begun.
Station 4: Pölven limestone quarry
Limestone for cement production is built on the Pölven river by blasting. From the upper, the "new quarry", the limestone reaches the "old quarry" via a 300 m long and 3 m wide drop shaft with a subsequent conveyor belt and is then transported to the crushing plant in the marl quarry.
Station 5: Concrete seals
The most serious fire broke out in the Franziski area in 1836 and has been smouldering until very recently. Until recently, the fire area had to be sealed with concrete seals. It is said that in the 16th century, early vegetables were grown here for the court in Innsbruck. The melting of the snow and the warmed soil provided a friendly, local microclimate.
Station 6: Gstettner Bridge
In Lengerergraben below the Gstettner Bridge, Alois Kraft from Kufstein discovered Portland cement marl, which he burned to clinker in 3 shaft kilns.
Station 7: Theresiastollen
In 1766, Empress Maria Theresa promoted the discovery of coal deposits. In the same year the miner Jakob Weindl reported an occurrence in Lengerergraben. The outcrops of the seam were located between 760-870 m.
Station 8: Layering sequence
The Pölven stands on three golden feet, the coal, the marl and the oil shale.
Station 9: conveyor belt system
Limestone and marl are transported from the quarries on the Pölven and Paisselberg to Kirchbichl via the 3.5 km long, largely underground conveyor belt system for loading by rail.
Station 10: Egger-Lüthi tunnel
In 1882 Michel Egger and Joachim Lüthi founded a cement factory. For the extraction of rough stone, they acquired the Ag mine, which until then had been used to extract limestone.
Station 11: From Knappendorf to the health resort
In 1951, when a prospecting well was drilled in search of lignite, high-quality sulphur water was found at a depth of 300 m, which shot up in a 20 m high fountain. After the sulphur spring proved to be one of the strongest in Austria, the Tyrolean provincial government declared it a medicinal spring in 1953.
Station 12: Playground
In a playful way children are made aware that Bad Häring is a village with a long mining tradition. The little visitors can really let off steam here.
Station 13: Franciski bath
The bath house was located at the mouth of the Francis Globe. The water was described as containing sulphur and iron.
Station 14: Mining Museum
Visitors enter a coal cellar and discover all sorts of things while browsing. An old miner tells the visitors about his life...